Overcoming my fear of flocking

When I was four, my family moved into the house I would grow up in. Of the many changes my parents made to the decor, none was more immediate than taking down the wallpaper in the dining room — shiny silver paper flocked with pink and orange flamingos. It left a lasting dislike for flocking in my impressionable little mind. One that until recently I thought would never change. But I’ve gained a new appreciation for the fuzzy stuff — not on my walls, mind you. On my art. There are lots of gorgeous papers on the market sporting the stuff, just begging to be touched, and added to a paper creation. But I recently found a nifty package of rub-ons from We R Memory Keepers that allows you to add flocking to paper just where you want it.

So working with a palette inspired by a recent visit from goldfinches, I went to work, well, play

The palette inspired by the goldfinches in my purple salvia garden.

The palette inspired by the goldfinches in my purple salvia garden.

The “Foil Glitter Flock” pack:

Swirls galore! Rub the glue image onto your paper, rub the flock over it and voila!

Swirls galore! Rub the glue image onto your paper, rub the flock over it and voila!

I couldn’t resist the YELLOW flock  … as bright as the goldfinches:

LOOK at that yellow!!! Too cool.

LOOK at that yellow!!! Too cool.

The created pieces:

Can you see the yellow flocking? Smashing. And check out those flighty little cherubs wrapping themselves around the "JOY"!

Can you see the yellow flocking? Smashing. And check out those flighty little cherubs wrapping themselves around the "JOY" (stamp by Stampfrancisco).

Very pleased with the flocking here and another Ebay find - the perspective stamp by Stamp Out Cute.

Very pleased with the flocking here and another Ebay find - the perspective stamp by Stamp Out Cute.

The bird and egg stamps in these two pieces are by Michelle Ward – awesome, awesome artist. Her blog is in my list of faves, or if you like the images as much as I do, you can visit her store directly: greenpepperpress.com.

1 thought on “Overcoming my fear of flocking

  1. Pingback: Flower Soft to the test « bcreative2day

Leave a comment